Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The ocean in your bathtub
2020
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Map It
Annotations

"The Earth's five oceans and its water cycle connect all of us in important and unexpected ways"-- - (Baker & Taylor)

The award-winning creators of A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars combine child-friendly artwork with engaging facts to explain the importance of recycling and the integral relationship between the ocean and life on Earth. 40,000 first printing. Illustrations. - (Baker & Taylor)

Perfect for curious kids!

From shore to suburb, the ocean connects all of us in unexpected ways'through the weather, our water, our food sources, and more! In their signature informative and child-friendly style, the award-winning creators of A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars explore how the ocean affects everyone, no matter where they live, and how everyone affects the ocean. Fans of Jess Keating's Shark Lady and Kate Messner's The Brilliant Deep will be hooked. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Did you know that oceans cover 71 percent of our planet and contain 97 percent of the Earth's water? That seven out of every ten breaths you take contains oxygen that comes from oceanic plant life? No matter how far from the ocean you live, it is part of your life, every single day. And you are part of the ocean's life, too. Every time you flush the toilet or throw something away, you might be sending it to the ocean'and every time you do a good deed, such as pick up litter or recycle, you are helping the ocean!

Acclaimed creators Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg explore how the Earth's five oceans affect daily life for everyone on the planet, presenting surprising information about the ocean ecosystem in a fun, accessible story.

- (HARPERCOLL)

“A fabulous find.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

“A wealth of information.”—Booklist

Perfect for curious kids!

From shore to suburb, the ocean connects all of us in unexpected ways—through the weather, our water, our food sources, and more! In their signature informative and child-friendly style, the award-winning creators of A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars explore how the ocean affects everyone, no matter where they live, and how everyone affects the ocean. Fans of Jess Keating’s Shark Lady and Kate Messner’s The Brilliant Deep will be hooked. 

Did you know that oceans cover 71 percent of our planet and contain 97 percent of the earth’s water? That seven out of every ten breaths you take contains oxygen that comes from oceanic plant life? No matter how far from the ocean you live, it is part of your life, every single day. And you are part of the ocean’s life, too. Every time you flush the toilet or throw something away, you might be sending it to the ocean—and every time you do a good deed, such as pick up litter or recycle, you are helping the ocean!

Acclaimed creators Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg explore how the earth’s five oceans affect daily life for everyone on the planet and present surprising information about the ocean ecosystem in a fun, accessible story.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

The most difficult part of writing this book was not being able to include every ocean fact, says Fishman's author's note, but there is still a wealth of information here. The book builds upon basic treatments of the water cycle to expand readers' idea of the ocean's role in that system. The bulk of the accessible, chatty text covers unexpected ways in which the ocean affects our everyday life—about three billion of Earth's inhabitants rely on seafood to survive, for example, and oxygen generated by marine plants is part of "almost seven out of every ten gulps of air you take." Toward the end of the book, the author discusses how we owe the ocean better treatment than we currently give it, and urges readers to do their part. A closing spread delves deeper into some topics touched upon previously—phytoplankton, the water cycle, aquifers, and climate change. Greenberg's whimsical jewel-toned cartoons underlie each page of text, enlivening the material and making it suitable as a read-aloud option for classes covering the water cycle. Grades K-2. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

School Library Journal Reviews

K-Gr 3—This picture book sparkles with a mix of basic and surprising information about oceans. Beginning with the request "Would you do me a favor? Check to see if there's any salt water beneath you," the text grabs readers' curiosity with its friendly, inviting style and then provides the necessary information. The illustrations are a perfect match—amusing and informative, with some unexpected details. Fishman explains how oceans affect us—the role of the water cycle in providing fresh water, food, and oxygen; the impact of the ocean on everyday life; and the need to confront problems like climate change and pollution. While emphasizing the wondrous aspects of the ocean, Fishman also encourages readers to help keep the oceans healthy. VERDICT A perfect combination of text and illustration invites young readers to learn more about our oceans. A fabulous find for science and social studies teachers, and young readers exploring nonfiction books.—Myra Zarnowski, City University of New York

Copyright 2020 School Library Journal.

Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1